AGC Welcomes New Members to AGC’s Environmental Forum Steering Committee; Meets with EPA and Corps
June 29, 2012

AGC is pleased to announce the appointment of six new members and the new chair, Connie Determan with Kiewit Corporation, to serve on its Environmental Forum Steering Committee through the AGC Convention 2015.  Members of the Steering Committee have direct access to federal regulatory officials, influence over AGC’s environmental agenda, and a means to exchange valuable information with one another and industry peers.  AGC also acknowledges the invaluable contributions of those members who recently completed their terms on the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee met on June 6 with several program offices of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and with the U.S. Corps of Engineers on water issues, wetlands permitting, and waste.  The Steering Committee members also volunteered to open sessions and introduce speakers at the first-ever AGC 2012 Contractors Environmental Conference (CEC) on June 7 and 8, held in Arlington, Va.  They helped to form the educational programs at that conference and will begin planning very soon the content for the 2013 CEC.

New members:

  • Cameron Flower, Kitchell Contractors Inc of AZ, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Leo Holm, Resource Professionals Alliance, Balsam Lake, Wisc.
  • Fulya Kocak, Clark Construction Group, LLC, Bethesda, Md.
  • Dan Lamble, Walbridge, Detroit, Mich.
  • Chris Monahan, The Lane Construction Corp, Chantilly, Va.
  • T. Dean Word, III, Dean Word Company, Ltd, New Braunfels, Texas

Existing members:

  • Connie Determan, Kiewit Corp, Omaha, Neb. (Current Chair)
  • Robert Adair, Construction ECO Services, Houston, Texas
  • Adrienne Coppock, APAC Missouri and Kansas City, Overland Park, Kan.
  • Chris Ennes, Ames Construction Inc, West Valley City, Utah
  • George Fujii, Tarlton Corporation, St Louis, Mo.
  • Craig Hoogstraten, James J Anderson Construction Co Inc, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Chip Laite, Sargent Corporation, Stillwater, Maine
  • Dan Lowery, Flatiron Construction Corp, Firestone, Colo.
  • Jo Moore, Ranger Construction Industries, Inc., Ranger Construction – South, Ft Pierce, Fla.
  • Devlyn Quinn-Emilio, Waste Management, Houston, Texas
  • Bill Robinson, Stormwater Risk Management LLC, Denver, Colo.

Previous members:

  • Charles Avery, McCarthy Building Companies Inc, St Louis, Mo. (2006-2008)
  • Leonard Boteilho, Ames Construction Inc, West Valley City, Utah (2005-2008)
  • Nora Calato, McCarthy Building Co Inc, Tempe, Ariz. (2008-2011)
  • Art Daniel, AR Daniel Construction Services Inc, Cedar Hill, Texas (2008-2011)
  • Jeffrey Freese, Tarlton Corporation, St Louis, Mo. (2008-2011)
  • Edward Gentilcore, Esq., Duane Morris LLP, Pittsburgh, Pa. (2008-2011)
  • Mark Knight, Foothills Contracting, Webster, S.D. (2005-2007)
  • Robert Lanham, Williams Brothers Construction Co, Houston, Texas (Chair 2005-2006, Member 2007-2010)
  • Tina Lau, Graniterock, Watsonville, Calif. (2010-2011)
  • Richard Lorenz, Wagman Construction, York, Pa. (2008-2012)
  • David Mack, Granite Construction Co, Tucson, Arizona (2010-2011)
  • George Malouf PhD, Emissions Technology Inc, Phoenix, Arizona (2007-2009)
  • Steve Massie, Jack L Massie Contractor Inc, Williamsburg, Va. (2005-2006)
  • Chris Miller, Brasfield & Gorrie LLC, Birmingham, Ala. (2005-2007)
  • Nick Neukirch, BRB Contractors Inc, Topeka, Kan. (2009-2011)
  • Trey Pebley, McAllen Construction Inc, McAllen, Texas (2006-2012, Chair 2011-2012)
  • Ron Rogge, Alberici Group Inc, St Louis, Mo. (Member 2005, Chair 2006-2007)
  • Gary Rohman, ECCO Equipment Corporation, Visalia, Calif. (2008-2009)
  • David Russo, New Day Underwriting Managers LLC, Bordentown, N.J. (2009)
  • Chester Saito, Hawaiian Dredging Construction Co, Honolulu, Hawaii (2005-2007)
  • James Snyder, Skanska USA Civil, Norfolk, Va. (2005-2006)
  • Christopher Steele, HI Stormwater Risk Management, Kaneohe, Hawaii (2007-2010)
  • Thomas Taylor, Vertegy An Alberici Enterprise, St Louis, Mo. (2007-2012, Chair 2009-2011)
  • Scott Williams, Hamilton Construction Co, Springfield, Ore. (2005-2008)
  • Michael Welch, BRB Contractors Inc, Topeka, Kan. (Member 2006, Chair 2007-2009)

About the Steering Committee

The steering committee oversees AGC’s Environmental Forum that includes all of the AGC members and chapter professionals who (1) subscribe to AGC’s Environmental Observer newsletter on environmental issues and (2) have expressed a specific interest in those issues.  Forum members also can opt to participate in AGC’s Environmental e-Forum. AGC launched the Forum in 2005 to increase the interaction among these individuals and to improve the opportunities for them to participate in AGC policymaking on environmental matters.

The steering committee members represent horizontal and vertical construction as well as municipal and utilities work.  Together, they have expertise and interest in the environmental issues that impact the daily work of construction-from compliance and environmental management to green construction. In addition, they have represented AGC membership in meetings with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and other organizations.  On a routine basis, they play a key role in advancing AGC’s environmental advocacy, education and outreach efforts.  Steering committee members volunteer to serve a three year term.

AGC’s Environmental Forum welcomes all AGC members and chapter staff who have an interest in the environmental issues impacting the construction industry. It’s FREE to join the Forum; go to to sign up today.